“Teran has long dealt with themes of social unrest, labor struggle, and the empty promise of the frontier West; here, he elegantly joins all three in pulse-pounding fashion. This terrific contemporary noir will resonate with fans of James Ellroy and Joe Ide.”
– Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

“In Big Island, L.A., Boston Teran (a pen name) offers one of the best crime novels of the year, deceptively presented as 250 small segments, each a page or two long. As a work of noir, it’s a modern update between Chandler and McIlvanney…crossed into the justified feminist anger that Carol O’Connell and Julia Keller have harnessed.”
– Beth Kanell, The New York Journal of Books

“Teran’s writing has a lyrical, almost poetic quality to it…which separates and elevates this thriller from the pack.”
– Crime Fiction Lover

“Start and there’s no stopping. Big Island, L.A. is a dazzling signpost on the road to wherever noir is going.”
– Peter Abrahams, Edgar Award winner and NYT bestselling writer also known as “Spencer Quinn”

“Teran’s ability to dovetail disparate lives, special interests, and ‘Olympic grade liars’ capable of talking themselves into trouble and deadly situations shapes a tense crime drama packed with twists and turns even seasoned thriller readers won’t see coming.”
– Midwest Book Review

In Big Island, L.A., a unique successor to the cult crime classic by Boston Teran, Never Count Out the Dead, a former combat Marine and a crime columnist embark on a suicide mission on the battlefield of L.A. ––a city of privilege, corruption, violence, rehearsed hypocrisy, card carrying culture cancellors, pedigreed hustlers, and a citizenry forever exploited by the lying haves.

Known through his pen name, Landshark, William Worth, author of the popular crime column and podcast BIG ISLAND L.A. rules over his reading public from an estate high above Mount Washington.

Into the life of this agoraphobic reclusive comes Ana Ride. A former combat Marine she swapped a foot for a Silver Star. Ana is in possession of a thread of information, relating to an investigation Landshark has tapped into. Together, they follow a trail of murder and destruction, connected to the 710 Corridor Conflict. By the time all blood has been spent, scores settled, the dead accounted for, justice will rise from the City of Fallen Angels.

Coming October 16, 2023